Digital Archiving and Retrieval Tool Website User Manual

From GICL Wiki
Revision as of 15:57, 6 April 2007 by M Pack (Talk | contribs)

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Introduction

Summary

The DART website features access to user information and project management. Allowing file download, the DART website also gives you the capability to create links so anyone can download certain files. All versions of files archived by the DART client are available through the website if you have read access to the project.

Browser Requirements

Any modern web browser will work with the DART website:

  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 6, 7
  • Mozilla Firefox 1.5, 2
  • Apple Safari 2
  • Opera 9
  • Netscape 9

Logging In

Contact your system administrator to learn the URL for the DART website. Input the URL into your web browser and press Enter. You should see the login page (if you are logged out):

1 login.jpg

Enter in your username and password to login and press Enter.

You will be logged in. Depending on your user’s privileges, you will see at least these links in the menu:

2 welcome.jpg

User Functions

Basic User

Basic User Basic users are most likely the engineers using the tool. They can perform all functions of managing their own account and managing the projects they belong to. Changing your user information:

3 modifyuser.jpg

Changing your password:

4 modifypass.jpg

Basic users can view all projects in the entire system. They have access to download any of the files within projects they have been assigned. In order to download files, select the checkbox next to the file you wish to obtain. You may browse the files either by submission order or by filename. Submission order will list the submissions made and the files included in each upload. Next, select whether you would like to include the directories in the zip. The original path to the uploaded will be included into the zip if this option is checked. Then click “Download Files”.

5 viewproj.jpg

Users can also publicly release a set of files via a link. First, select which files will be included in the published set. Next, select whether the files in the set should be updated to the latest version. This means if the files you select to be distributed have a newer version at the time the link is accessed, the file you selected will be replaced with its latest version. Next, select whether the original directories should be included in the distribution. Click “Get Public Link” to obtain the link to the published set of files.

6 viewproj.jpg

Project Administrator

Project administrators are just like basic users however they can manage any projects in which they have been given administrative status. They can change all characteristics of the project including team members. Clicking on the “Modify Project” from the navigation will allow you to edit from the projects you administrate.

7 modifyproj.jpg

Administrator

Administrators have access to all functions of the system. Unlike Project Administrators, Administrators can modify all projects as well as download and release files from all projects. From the navigation menu they can perform the following additional tasks:

  • “Create User” – Create a new user in the system. Administrators can not create or delete other Administrators

8 createuser.jpg

  • “Modify Other User’s Information” – Change the information about any user

9 modifyotheruser.jpg

  • “Modify Other User’s Password” – Change the password of any user

10 modifyotherpass.jpg

  • “Create Project” – Create a new project

11 createproj.jpg

  • “View Logs” – View any activity within the system

12 viewlogs.jpg

Super Administrator

The Super Administrator can perform every action. Unlike Administrators, they can also perform the following functions:

  • “Create User” - Create users with Administrator status

13 createuser.jpg

  • “Install Application” – Erase the current system and replace with a new, blank system

14 install.jpg

  • “Uninstall Application” – Erase all the data for the current system

15 uninstall.jpg

  • “View Logs” – View and reset the logs

16 viewlogs.jpg